Ludum Dare – Perfect Match

I joined a big game jam, to celebrate the end of lectures for the term! My game is called Perfect Match, and looks like this:

day2_03

You are a match. You only get one short amount of time to burn everything. Your natural enemy is the water, and the boat that puts out fires. You like rough stone, because it feels warm.

 day2_04 day2_05

Ludum Dare is a 48 hour game jam, so I got some sleep this time! The theme this time was “You only get one”.

My game is an asymmetrical 2 player (one with a mouse and keyboard, the other with an Xbox 360 gamepad) 3D fire sim toy thing. You only get one match’s life (if you’re player 1). Water and fire interact in the usual way. Strike the match on the rough rock to start. Points are awarded for tree/ house voxels burnt to the ground. There’s no sound.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32538545/LudumDareFire/WebBuilt/WebBuilt.unity3d

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32538545/LudumDareFire/LinuxBuild.zip

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32538545/LudumDareFire/WinBuild.zip

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/32538545/LudumDareFire/FireLudumDareSource.zip

This was my second game jam and I learned lots from this project – obviously fire simulation, but also the particulars of Unity’s particle systems and I’m sure lots of other things I can’t remember now.

Obvious bugs include the match floating up at certain times, due to unity’s physics collider. The match probably shouldn’t float on the water either…

I started lots of things that didn’t go into the final game – independent voxel fire grids that could interact, procedural generation of terrain. I guess the maths was a bit too difficult after nearly 28 hours of programming for my brain! I really shouldn’t have eaten so much sugar. Maybe next game jam I’ll remember!

Leave a Reply

