One game a week – first month

After reading a couple of gamasutra blogs¹, I decided to start making a game every week (on top of the bigger games I’m making). Here are the first month’s games:

A hex-based rogue-like with a mix of real-time and turn-based mechanics

Space Junk Settler

An asymmetric multiplayer air-hockey inspired one-gamepad game

Shaderball

A first-person linear horror text adventure

SCP-1197

Not a game, just a simple movement demo

Jellyfish

Hopefully I can keep this up indefinitely despite what I am doing in the meantime. Making these games improves my knowledge of Unity, my emotional reaction to finishing and releasing games, and perhaps I get some practice doing art, but game design seems a more important and difficult skill to me.

¹ http://www.gamasutra.com/blogs/RamiIsmail/20140226/211807/Game_A_Week_Getting_Experienced_At_Failure.php and http://www.gamasutra.com/blogs/AdrielWallick/20140226/211761/Make_Many_Games_Learn_Many_Things.php

Leave a Reply

